Money

As every busy high schooler knows money is a very, very valuable thing. Throughout the early years (15 and under) your only base of income was usually your birthday and Christmas. Those two sums of money have to last you all year until your next birthday or Christmas. When I turned 16 and was able to drive I knew that I needed to get a job. It was the only way I was going to be able to do anything on the weekends. I was thankful enough for my parents to pay for gas and insurance but I have to pay for anything I would do with friends on the weekend. So I had to get a summer job. I took some classes and became a certified lifeguard. I worked random shifts throughout the week all summer. After those two months working I made a total of around $1200. Since lifeguarding for the company that we worked for was miserable I chose not to do it this past summer. It has been very hard at times but I have managed to make that $1200 last until now. Over a year later and I now have $32 remaining in my bank account. This $32 has to last me until Christmas. I am definitely planning on lifeguarding again this summer, no matter how miserable it is. I need money for college and I am desperate. I am sure most people in our English class feel the same way. 

Leave a Reply

